Sebastian Vettel wins 2010 Formula 1 Driver’s Championship

Ladies and gentlemen, your 2010 Formula 1 World Champion: Sebastian Vettel.

Vettel became the youngest Formula 1 World Champion ever by winning the last race of the season in Abu Dhabi today. Fernando Alonso and Mark Webber were in contention for the championship, but finished seventh and eighth respectively.

Alonso was the favourite before the race, and only needed to finish in the top four to win the championship. He spent most of the race sitting behind Vitaly Petrov however, thanks to an early shuffle of the race order.

The biggest threat to Vettel’s championship became Lewis Hamilton, but Hamilton fell short, placing second behind the 23-year-old German.

Our congratulations go out to Vettel. He had a great season and deserved the victory.

Source: Autosport | Image: firststoptyres / CC BY 2.0

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.