Formula 1 Gets New Points System

The FIA has announced that the Formula 1 World Championship will get another points scoring system in 2010. As next year we will have 26 cars on the grid, the governing body of F1 announced a change was needed to deal with the increased interests of new teams to join the championship. Under the old system, points were accorded as following:

  1. 10 points
  2. 8 points
  3. 6 points
  4. 5 points
  5. 4 points
  6. 3 points
  7. 2 points
  8. 1 point

However, with the new system, points will be awarded to the first 10 drivers as follows:

  1. 25 points
  2. 20 points
  3. 15 points
  4. 10 points
  5. 8 points
  6. 6 points
  7. 5 points
  8. 3 points
  9. 2 points
  10. 1 point

The FIA say that this new system will be more appropriate with the increased number of cars on the grid, allowing some of the new teams which haven’t got so much money to score. As always in F1 lately, controversy has already sparked on the new points system with some people saying that by introducing this new regulation, comparisons between past and current drivers points will no longer be possible. The 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 system was introduced in 2003 and the new one is said to be the greatest point system change in F1 history. Even tough I don’t usually agree with the FIA, this time I think they are absolutely right.

Source: Autosport

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.